Reverse the send action, shortly after accidently clicked the 'send' button .
Why do we need to recall Gmail emails?
Sometimes after sending an email, we may want to recall it due to some mistakes. For example, spelling errors while editing the email content, sending the message to the wrong person, or forgetting to attach a file, etc.
When we send an email, Gmail allows you to undo the send by displaying a small pop-up window at the bottom of the screen.
You can choose to view the email or cancel it. However, you only have a few seconds to do so. Gmail allows up to 30 seconds to recall an email. You can adjust the cancel setting in your email account settings.
1. Open your Gmail account and go to the “Settings” gear icon in the top right corner. In the “General” tab, scroll down to the “Undo Send” section.
Set the cancellation period for the “Undo Send” feature by choosing the number of seconds you want to allow for cancelling the send action. The available options are 5, 10, 20, and 30 seconds.
Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the “Save Changes” button.
2. Now, whenever you send an email, you will see a message at the bottom of the page that says “Your message has been sent. Undo.” along with a countdown timer. If you want to recall the email, click on the “Undo” button within the cancellation period. This will stop the email from being sent and allow you to make any necessary changes before resending it.
How to unsend an email from your mobile device?
After you finish editing an email on your iPhone/Android phone and press send, you will see a small pop-up window at the bottom of the screen confirming that the email is being sent. You will see a “undo” button on the right side of this banner. To cancel the sending of the email, click on the “undo” button. Canceling the send immediately will cancel the email and allow you to return to the text editor to make any changes before sending.
Can sent emails be recalled?
It’s important to note that the “Undo Send” feature only works for a limited time after you hit the send button, and it may not be successful if the recipient’s email server has already received the email. Additionally, the “Undo Send” feature only works for emails that are sent from your Gmail account and does not apply to emails sent from other email clients or services.
If you want to recall an email that has already been sent, you can try contacting the recipient and asking them to delete the email. However, this may not always be possible, especially if the email has already been opened and read.
(The email is actually not sent during the undo period, there is no way to reliably unsend an email once it is actually out.)
How long do I have to recall a message in Gmail?
You can recall a email in Gmail within 5-30 seconds after sending it. You will have a window of time to catch any mistakes and cancel the message before it is formally sent.
Does Gmail have read receipts?
Unless you use a third-party plugin, you will not be able to know when someone has opened or read your email.
Demo Video (How to recall an email in gmail?)
Other Tips You May be Interested:
Unread Emails Only
Sometimes you want to work on those unread emails only.